Top 25 Education Professors in Michigan

Education Professor Schools Online Michigan

Educators help to develop communities and improve the future, and Michigan education departments work to train those teachers to make a difference. With the young minds of the future on the line, higher education teacher training, special education, and education technology departments are crucial.

These top 25 picks among education professors in Michigan exemplify teaching standards from both public and private colleges and universities in the state. Their grants, awards and honors are impressive, but the true proof of their quality is in their inspiring interactions with the students they teach. Top education professors in Michigan excel both in the research library and the classroom, and the individuals below make students their priority, both in their scholarship and in interactions with their students. Take a look at the cream-of-the-crop professors in Michigan education departments.

Professor School Bio Photo
Anne Curzan University of Michigan

Anne Curzan earned a Faculty Recognition Award in 2009, following her earning the university’s Henry Russel Award in 2007. Her research interests include language and gender, historical sociolinguistics, and the history of the English language.

Bob Bain University of Michigan

Bob Bain is an Associate Professor in the School of Education and Chair of Secondary Teacher Education. In both 2008 and 2011, he received the College Educator of the Year Award from the Michigan Council of Social Studies.

Bradley H. Baltensperger Michigan Technological University

Bradley H. Baltensperger and four peers were granted a $3.8 million grant from the National Science Foundation on behalf of the Michigan Teacher Excellence Program between 2009 and 2013.

Chaunda L. Scott Oakland University

Chaunda L. Scott, an associate professor at Oakland University, won the Cutting Edge Research Award in 2009 from the Academy of Human Resource Development for her co-authored research on workplace violence, hate crimes and their implications for human resource development.

Clarence Joldersma Calvin College

Clarence Joldersma won the Collaborative Change Award with three peers for their leadership in promoting a culture of sustainability at Calvin College in 2012. His research interests include education ethics and spirituality.

Deborah Vriend Van Duinen Hope College

Deborah Vriend Van Duinen earned her PhD in Curriculum, Instruction and Teacher Education from Michigan State University in 2011. Her research interests include adolescent literacy, secondary teacher preparation and development, and children’s and young adult literature.

Edward A. Silver University of Michigan

Edward A. Silver is the dean of the School of Education at University of Michigan-Dearborn. He was the 2009 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Geralyn E. Stephens Wayne State University

Geralyn E. Stephens is the Program Coordinator for the Career and Technical Education and Computer Education departments. In 2011, she was a finalist for the SLOAN-C Award for Excellence in Online Teaching.

J. Joe Bishop Eastern Michigan University

J. Joe Bishop holds two master’s degrees, in sociology and anthropology, and completed his PhD in International Education and Social Studies Education at The University of Iowa. His research interests include developing programs to educate Eurasian countries towards democratic citizenship.

Jana Nidiffer Oakland University

Jana Nidiffer was awarded the Founder’s Day award for her scholarship in 2012. She serves as associate professor and chair of the Educational Leadership Department at Oakland University.

Jeffrey J Martin Wayne State University

Jeffrey Martin was awarded the Distinguished Faculty Fellow by the WSU Board of Governors in April 2012. His research interests include physical activity, disability sport, body image, and distance running.

Jim McDonald Central Michigan University

Jim McDonald, a teacher education and professional development professor, was named 2013 College Teacher of the Year by the Board of the Michigan Science Teachers Association. He has spent 11 of his 25 years teaching at Central Michigan University.

Joan Chadde Schumaker Michigan Technological University

Joan Chadde Schumaker is the education program coordinator and an instructor of cognitive and learning sciences at MTU. Her areas of expertise include Great Lakes education and stewardship, watershed management, and stream monitoring.

John Burkhardt University of Michigan

John Burkhardt is a clinical professor and the Director of the National Forum on Higher Education for the Public Good. He was awarded the Exemplary Diversity Engagement Award by the National Center for Institutional Diversity at the University of Michigan in 2009.

Joseph Krajcik Michigan State University

Joseph Krajcik is a faculty member in science education and director of the CREATE for STEM Institute. He won the Distinguished Contributions to Science Education Through Research Award in 2010 and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Kristin Phillips Michigan State University

Kristin Phillips is an assistant professor in the Department of Teacher Education. Her current book project focuses on an ethnography of rural development in the Singida region of central Tanzania.

Linda Lewis-White Eastern Michigan University

Linda Lewis-White, member of the Department of Teacher Education at Eastern Michigan University, was named an Outstanding Advising Award winner in 2011. Only 5-10 faculty members across the U.S. each year receive this prestigious award.

Mark A. Seals Alma College

Mark A. Seals joined Alma College faculty in 1999. His research interests include the effect of caring on educators and students; a recent research grant sent him on an excursion to the Tiputini Biodiversity Station in eastern Ecuador.

Mary Kennedy Michigan State University

Mary Kennedy is a professor of education at Michigan State University and a fellow of the American Educational Research Association. Her research and scholarship focuses on defining teacher quality and identifying factors that influence quality.

Michael B. Gilbert Central Michigan University

Michael B. Gilbert launched the Doctor of Education degree in Educational Leadership at Central Michigan University. He was inducted into the International Listening Association Hall of Fame in 2011.

Monica Walch Tracey Wayne State University

Monica Walch Tracey is an associate professor of instructional technology. Her research focuses on theory and design-based research of interdisciplinary design including design thinking, designer reflection, and designer decision-making.

Nancy Cook Hope College

Nancy Cook is a professor and the Director of Student Teaching in the Special Education department at Hope College. In addition to the Provost’s Award for Service to the Academic Program, she has won a Favorite Professor Award at the school.

Peggy A. Thelen Alma College

Peggy A. Thelen is the chair and associate professor of education at Alma College. She won the Michigan Campus Compact Faculty/Staff Community Service-Learning Award for her contributions to service learning in 2010.

Suellyn Henke Albion College

Suellyn Henke’s recent publications have focused on urban education and media. Students in her courses design classes and learning opportunities for their own students.

Susan Florio-Ruane Michigan State University

Susan Florio-Ruane earned the Outstanding Book Award from the National Reading Conference for her book, Teacher Education and the Cultural Imagination. She is a professor of teacher education and has also won the Michigan State University Distinguished Faculty Award.