Top 25 Women Professors in Michigan

Woman College Professor in Michigan

Michigan is so ripe with highly effective educators that they seem to outnumber the students. The women below represent Michigan’s slice of an elite class of female educators, those who consistently out-perform their peers and who put the needs of their students first. Obviously, these aren’t the only women doing great work in the state, but we believe they merit special recognition.

Professor School Bio Photo
Christine Phelps Central Michigan University

Dr. Phelps recently received the CMU College of Science and Technology Oustanding Teaching Award for 2012. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of Delaware in 2009 and joined the faculty at CMU in the same year.

Debra Ross Grand Valley State University

Dr. Ross has recently received Pew Teaching Excellence Award for 2013. She earned her Ph.D. in Criminal Justice from Rutgers University in 1999 and joined the GVSU School of Criminal Justice in 2003.

Diane Ebert-May Michigan State University

Dr. Ebert-May, was selected as a recipient of the 2012 CNS Distinguished Faculty Award. She heads the Ebert-May Biology Education Research Lab, which studies the links between the physical and the cognitive sciences, emphasizing the role of the student.

Diane Sparks Grand Rapids Community College

Dr. Sparks has been awarded the 2012 School of Arts and Sciences Excellence in Education Award. The award is presented to only one faculty member each year and denotes a commitment to education that surpasses the college’s highest standards.

Doris C. Plantus Oakland University

Dr. Plantus, a special lecturer in the English department, has received the 2012 Excellence in Teaching Award for Non-Tenured Professors. She earned her Ph.D. from Wayne State University in 2005 with a specialization in translation and adaptation.

Doris Fields Eastern Michigan University

Dr. Fields earned her Ph.D. from Wayne State University in 2002 and has been teaching at Eastern Michigan since 1997. She recently received the 2013 Ronald W. Collins Distinguished Facutly Award for Teaching.

Elina Erzikova Central Michigan University

Dr. Erzikova, one of the Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s Emerging Scholars, has received the CMU Excellence in Teaching Award for 2012-2013. A Russian immigrant, she worked as a professional journalist in her home country before earning her Ph.D. from the University of Alabama.

Georgina Montgomery Michigan State University

Dr. Montgomery has been named the 2012-2013 Lilly Teaching Fellow. Her research interests include development of filed methods and animal behavior studies.

Gwen Tarbox Western Michigan University

Dr. Tarbox, who teaches Gender and Women Studies in the WMU’s English department, has been awarded the 2012-2013 College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching. Her research focuses on the effects of childrens literature on the lives of readers, with an emphasis on females.

Huirong Fu Oakland University

Dr. Fu has received the 2012 OU School of Engineering and Computer Science Outstanding Faculty Award. In 2000, she earned her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, and came to Oakland University in 2005.

Janet Vigna Grand Valley State University

Dr. Vigna, a professor of Genetics and Biology at GVSU, has been presented with the 2013 University Oustanding Teacher Award. The award is presented to only one teacher every year. She earned her doctorate in Microbiology from the University of Iowa.

Katherine Osteryoung Michigan State University

Dr. Osteryoung has been awarded the Michigan State CNS Distinguished Faculty Award for 2013. Her primary research interst is chloroplast division in plant cells.

Kelly Victor-Burke Eastern Michigan University

Dr. Victor-Burke recently received the EMU Full-Time Lecturers Outstanding Teaching Award. She joined the facutly at EMU in 200 and now serves as a lecturer and the Co-Coordinator of the Georgraphy Geotourism Project.

Kim Colvert Ferris State University

Dr. Colvert recently received the first annual Ferris State Academic Scholar Award. Since coming to Ferris in 1988 she has performed extensive research in her field, all of which her students benefit from directly.

Laura Kasischke University of Michigan

Professor Kasischke has received the 2013 UM Distinguished Faculty Award. In 1987, she earned her Master of Fine Arts from the university at which she now teaches.

Laurie Witucki Grand Valley State University

Dr. Witucki has been named the GVSU Educational Support Program Professor of the Year. She earned her Ph.D. in Bioorganic Chemistry from Princeton University.

Linda Reeser Western Michigan University

Dr. Reeser is earned her Ph.D. from Bryn Mawr College before joining the faculty at WMU, and has since been teaching her courses with passions and dynamism. She is the recipient of the WMU Excellence in Teaching Award for 2012, presented by the dean of the college.

Linda Spoelman Grand Rapids Community College

Dr. Spoelman recently received the Michigan Community College Association’s Oustanding Faculty of the Year Award. She earned her doctorate from the Appalachian State University and, in addition to teaching, serves as the director of Instruction for Adult and Developmental Education.

Lisa Newman University of Michigan

Dr. Newman was selected to receive the 2012 Dean’s Medical School Community Service Award. She is the Director of Michigan’s Breast Care Center and a practicing surgical oncologist.

Mariane Fahlman Wayne State University

Dr. Fahlman was awarded the 2012 Harrison Award for Commitment to Comprehensive School Health Education. In addition to teaching, she serves as the Coordinator of Health Education for WSU’s College of Education.

Maureen MacGillivray Central Michigan University

Dr. MacGillivray has been awarded the CMU Faculty Distinguished Service Award for 2012. She earned her doctorate in Clothing, Textiles and Merchandising from the Oklahoma State University.

Nell Hill Ferris State University

Professor Hill, a graduate of the school at which she now teaches, has been awarded the 2012 FSU Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award. Since joining Ferris in 2005, she has taught many language courses, but focuses on beginner and intermediate French.

Ratna Naik Wayne State University

Dr. Naik has been awarded the WSU Distinguished Graduate Facutly Award for 2013. She earned her Ph.D. from West Virginia University and is now both a professor in and the chair of te WSU Physics and Astronomy Department.

Sherine Obare Western Michigan University

Dr. Obare has recently been named one of WMU’s Emergin Scholars for 2012. She earned her doctorate from the University of South Carolina in 2002 and now teaches and serves as the director of Bridges to the Baccalaureate Program.

Susan Gelman University of Michigan

Dr. Gelman is a recipient of the University of Michigan Distinguished Faculty Award for 2013. Her research interested include cognitive development, language acquisition, and the relationship between language and thought.